mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Newtown clinch title, despite defeat

Created on 23/09/2020 @ 14:40

Newtown clinched the one point required to take the John Rees Division One title, but they won’t be winning as invincibles after succumbing to their first defeat of the season at home to Bomere Heath.

After being told to field first, Sam Cooke (4-24) ensured that the visitors were bowled out for 159 in the 38thover.

The run chase went right to the wire, but when John Anthony (30) and Ricky Davies (37) went the game swung in Bomere Heath’s favour with Newtown falling just five runs short.

The eight points secured were enough however to take the title.

Montgomery hit form in the Shrewsbury and West Division Two with victory on the road at Oswestry II.

The hosts posted 192-8 to chase, but it wasn’t enough as Aaron Ruff-Cock (68no) and Andrew Barker (49) guided Monty home in the 35thover with just three wickets lost.

Welshpool II have clinched the Border division title, and the first XI will be going for a club double this Saturday.

The second string made it nine wins from nine by posting a mighty 209-5 with Mat Sherwood (50) and Ryan Preston (44) setting the tone against Cae Glas II.

Rupert Redway then took 4-10 to help bowl the visitors out for 96 and set the champagne corks popping.

The firsts will hope to follow suit on Saturday after regaining top spot following a dramatic day of action in the Wales and West division.

Welshpoolsteamrolled Guilsfield & Llandrinio for just 58, and secured victory in the 23rdover without a wicket lost.

Rob Anderson starred for Welshpool with 5-20 for a victory that saw them leapfrog Llanidloes at the top after they were stunned at Montgomery II.

Opener Gareth Jones made an impressive 71 as the hosts set 196-7, a target that proved out of reach for Llani despite some decent batting from Lewis Swallow (53no).

Bishop’s Castle’s return to form continued after chasing down Newtown II’s 95-7 for a seven-wicket win.

John Rees Division One

Knockin & Kinnerley v Newtown

Shrewsbury & West Division 2 Group

Montgomery v Cound 1

Wales & West Group

Bishops Castle v Montgomery II

Llanidloes v Guilsfield & Llandrinio       

Newtown II v Welshpool