mynewtown logo
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook  follow us on twitter
19  July

Official General Election candidate list released

12/06/2024 @ 09:53


The official list of candidates standing in the forthcoming general election in our Westminster constituency has been published.

The nominations for wannabe politicians to stand closed, and details confirming who will be contesting the newly expanded Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr seat on Thursday, July 4, emerged.

Boundary changes to equalise the number of voters in each constituency will see the number of Welsh MP’s returned to Westminster next month slimmed down from 40 to 32.

Our official list is:

Jeremy Brignell-Thorp – The Green Party.

Oliver Lewis – Reform UK.

Glyn Preston – Welsh Liberal Democrats.

Elwyn Vaughan – Plaid Cymru.

Craig Williams – Welsh Conservative.

Steve Witherden – Welsh Labour.

In 2019, Craig Williams won the seat for the Conservatives by a 12,138 majority having received 20,020 votes. Liberal Democrat Kishan Devani was second with 7,882 votes and Labour’s Kait Duerden third with 5,585 votes. The turnout was 69.8%.

Powys Chief Executive, Emma Palmer, is the “acting” returning officer for both constituencies and is set to receive an extra payment on top of her salary for this role.

Parliamentary elections fees, which are set at Westminster, is £3,658 for Montgomeryshire and Glynd┼Ár.