mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Berriew, Crosses into last 16

Created on 25/11/2018 @ 10:22
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Berriew and Four Crosses are into the last 16 of the FAW Trophy after a pair of brilliant performances to keep the Montgomeryshire flag flying.

A hat-trick from Jamie Evans saw Crosses upset last season’s finalists Rhos Aelwyd 3-1 to book their place, while David Jones enjoyed his 100th win as Berriew manager as they overcame Rhydymwyn 2-0. Unfortunately, there was no way through for Llanfair United who, despite good periods of pressure, went down 4-2 to a clinical Llanrug United.

Meanwhile, Llanrhaeadr moved up to seventh in the Huws Gray Alliance after Joe Vaughan’s second half strike sealed a 2-1 win over Conwy Borough. Guilsfield were left to rue early missed chances as they fell 4-1 at Rhyl.

Defeats for Welshpool Town and Radnor Valley against Carno and Kerry respectively enabled Caersws and Llanidloes Town to pull away at the top of the MMP Mid Wales League after both recorded weekend wins.

In the second division, there were wins for Montgomery Town and Waterloo Rovers to keep the pressure on Newbridge-on-Wye and Hay St Mary’s at the top.

Forden were beaten in the Emrys Morgan Cup at Bow Street Reserves while a hat-trick from Mike Jones helped Llanfyllin advance in their 7-3 win over Churchstoke Reserves.

Bishop’s Castle moved into second spot in the JT Hughes Montgomeryshire Amateur League with a 3-2 win over Trewern United, the league’s only game.

In the second division, there were wins for Waterloo Reserves, Llanrhaeadr Reserves and Kerry Reserves.

Huws Gray Alliance

Llanrhaeadr 2, Conwy Borough 1

Rhyl 4, Guilsfield 1

FAW Trophy, fourth round

Llanrug United 4, Llanfair United 2

Four Crosses 3, Rhos Aelwyd 1

Berriew 2, Rhydymwyn 0

MMP Mid Wales League

Division One

Aberaeron 2, Llandrindod Wells 2

Caersws 2, Llansantffraid 0

Kerry 2, Radnor Valley 0

Llanidloes 7, Churchstoke 0

Tywyn Bryncrug 1, Builth Wells 5

Welshpool Town 1, Carno 2

Division Two

Borth Utd 4, Newbridge-on-Wye 2

Hay St Mary's 4, Dyffryn Banw 3

Machynlleth 1, Abermule 1

Montgomery 3, Dolgellau 1

Rhayader 2, Presteigne 0

Waterloo Rovers 3, Aberystwyth University 1

Emrys Morgan Cup

Bow Street Reserves 3, Forden United 1

Churchstoke Reserves v Llanfyllin Town

JT Hughes Montgomeryshire Amateur League

Honda One

Bishop’s Castle 3, Trewern United 2

Mitsubishi Two

Abermule Reserves 0, Llanrhaeadr Reserves 6

Llanfechain v Newtown Wanderers

Llanfyllin Town Reserves 0, Waterloo Rovers Reserves 5

Llanwddyn 0, Kerry Reserves 2

Llanymynech 5, Trefonen 5

icnn logo