mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Montgomery are T20 champions

Created on 06/07/2018 @ 10:18
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Montgomery Cricket Club were crowned T20 Junior Slam champions last night with a convincing victory against Hodnet, Peplow and Tibberton.

Chasing 109 runs to win, Montgomery knocked off the winning runs inside 15 over for the loss of just three wickets.

Opening batsman Thomas Corfield was named man-of-the-match for his 42 not out.

Captain Sam Williams said: “I am absolutely thrilled for everyone involved with the club.

“Bringing home the trophy ahead of out President’s Day on Sunday is fantastic; it was a great team performance.”

He added: “We now need to keep our winning ways going and concentrate on closing the gap between Ellesmere and ourselves we can do our best to win Shropshire Division Two and make this a season to remember.”

Montgomery overcame Shrewsbury Thirds, Bishops Castle and Ellesmere to reach the final, while Hodnet, Peplow and Tibberton beat Wheaton Aston, Wellington Thirds and Shifnal Thirds.

Montgomery: Thomas Corfield, Andrew Barker, Tim Davies, Ieuan Griffiths, Aaron Ruff-Cock, Charlie Clinton, Rob Bennett, Sam Williams, Alex Bromley, Patrick Fletcher and Eddie Bennett.

icnn logo