mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Robins through, Llan bow out

Created on 27/01/2018 @ 18:56
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


Newtown endured a monster JD Welsh Cup battle after needing penalties to reach round five at Flint Town United.

The match finished 1-1 after full time with Alex Fletcher giving the Robins an early lead, and then 2-2 after extra time, with Ryan Kershaw again putting Newtown ahead. But it was two saves from Dave Jones in the shoot-out that secured their passage through.

It was a memorable day at Llanrhaeadr who gave a fantastic account of themselves as they pushed Welsh Premier giants, Bangor City, all the way in the JD Welsh Cup fourth round.

The Spar Mid Wales League title chasers took the lead early from a Iwan Matthews penalty, but City were back on level terms after 15 minutes.

The game seemed dead and buried as Bangor scored twice to open up a 3-1 lead, but with a bumper crowd behind them, Llan battled hard and pulled one back two minutes from time through Daniel Graham. It wasn’t to be though as City withheld a late barrage of pressure to move into the fifth round.

Both Guilsfield and Caersws had their matches cancelled due to weather in the Huws Gray Alliance.

In the Spar Mid Wales League, Welshpool Town looked imperious as they demolished Machynlleth 11-0, and a young Berriew side clinched a morale boosting 2-1 win over Carno.

Llansantffraid closed the gap at the top of the Spar Two with a 4-1 win over Montgomery, but the comeback of the day, if not the season, was made by Abermule who overturned a 4-1 half time deficit to holders Aberystwyth University to win 5-4 after extra time in the E.R. Jenkins Cup. Dave Anthony performed heroics with four goals.

JD Welsh Cup

Flint Town United, Newtown

Llanrhaeadr 2, Bangor City 3

Spar Mid Wales League

Division One

Berriew 2, Carno 1

Welshpool 11, Machynlleth 0

Division Two

Llansantffraid Village 4, Montgomery 1

Penybont P, Dolgellau P

Newbridge on Wye P, Presteigne P

Talgarth 0, Brecon Northcote 4

E R Jenkins Cup (quarter-final)

Abermule 5, Aberystwyth Uni 4 (aet)


icnn logo