mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Great result for Newtown

Created on 30/12/2017 @ 20:27
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

In a complete reversal of their Boxing Day fortunes Newtown turned a 2-0 deficit into a 4-2 victory against TNS at Park Hall in the JD Welsh Premier League.

The Saints forged a two-goal lead inside the first quarter of an hour as the Robins' defence surrendered possession and Ryan Brobbel crossed for Greg Draper to slot home before Brobbel chipped a ball from the byline and Jamie Mullan lashed into the roof of the net.

But any thoughts of a home landslide were halted when Ryan Sears scored with a diving header from a Craig Williams cross. Neil Mitchell hit a post for the visitors with Jamie Reed unable to convert the rebound but, a minute later, a Nick Rushton cross was headed home by Luke Boundford.

For the second time in these festive derbies the Saints were reduced to 10-men when Robbie Parry was red-carded on the stroke of half-time for arguing with the referee.

The visitors made their advantage count when Boundford scored his second of the afternoon on 74 minutes. And Nicky Rushton clinched the spoils for Newtown with a fourth goal three minutes from time.

Casersws also had to come from behind to beat Aberaeron in the Central Wales Cup after trailing 2-0 at half time at the Recreation Ground.

Steve Blenkinsop (2) and Luke Sherbon put Bluebirds 3-2 up, Aberaeron equalised with 10 mins to go before Rhydian Davies scored an injury time winner

JD Welsh Premier League

TNS 2 Newtown 4

Huws Gray Alliance

Penrhyncoch 1 Guilsfield 1

Central Wales Cup

Caersws 4 Aberaeron 3

Spar Mid Wales League

Division 1

Bow Street 2 Borth Utd 1

Llandrindod Wells 0 Knighton 2

Llanfair Utd P Carno P

Llanrhaeadr 3 Berriew 1

Radnor Valley 3 Llanidloes 2

Tywyn Bryncrug P Kerry P

Welshpool 1 Churchstoke 1

Division 2 *

Abermule 2 Montgomery 3

Dyffryn Banw 1 Dolgellau 2

Hay St Mary’s 3 Presteigne 1

Llansantffriad Village 3 Newbridge-on-Wye 2

Penybont 4 Talgarth 0

icnn logo