mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Don't forget to vote today

Created on 04/05/2017 @ 07:48
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Today is voting day in the town, community and county council elections.

Polling stations have opened in Newtown and the surrounding areas until 10pm tonight for residents to vote in representatives for one seat on Newtown Town Council and several wards on Powys County Council.

The majority of seats on the town council have been unopposed.

Council chiefs and politicians have been urging the public to make their vote count.

In Newtown there is just one seat being contested for Newtown Town Council and that is Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West. Candidates are John Stephen Barker, Ian Michael Childs (Labour), Diane Gwendolyne Williams (Plaid Cymru) and Richard Thomas Williams (Independent).

The Polling Station for voting for this seat is Newtown Crescent Christian Centre.

In the Powys County Council elections, seats being contested in Newtown are:

Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North

Roy Allan Norris (Plaid Cymru)

Derry Quinlan (Liberal Democrat)

Daniel Mark Rowlands (Conservative)

The Polling Station is at the Northside Recreation Centre in Canal Road.

Newtown Central

David Mark Selby (Liberal Democrats)

Rupert James Taylor (Conservative)

The Polling Station is at Trehafren Meeting Hall.

Newtown South

Richard Gerard Edwards (Plaid Cymru)

Sharon Evans (Independent)

Alan Neil Morrison (Conservative)

The Polling Station is at Maesyrhandir Youth Centre.

Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West

Mark Antony Barnes (Conservative)

Peter Leslie Hough (Liberal Democrat)

Emyr Sean Poole (Plaid Cymru)

Richard John White (Independent)

The Polling Station is at Newtown Crescent Christian Centre.

In neighbouring elections:


Gareth Michael Pugh (Conservative)

Leon Kerl Shearer (Independent)

The Polling Stations are at Bettws Community Centre, Llandyssil Old School Hall and Abermule Community Centre.


Graham Frederick Brand (Green Party)

Graham John McArthur (Independent)

Gareth Morgan (Liberal Democrat)

Pam Smith (Conservative)

The Polling Stations are Llanidloes Community Centre.


David John Collington (Liberal Democrat)

Les George (Conservative)

Pippa Pemberton (Green Party)

The Polling Stations are at Caersws Village Hall, Clatter Community Centre, Carno Community Centre.


Stephen Murray Hayes (Independent)

Jeremy David Thorp (Green Party)

The Polling Station is at Montgomery Institute.


Paul David Martin (Conservative)

Kath Roberts-Jones (Independent)

The Polling Station is at Dolfor Community Centre, Kerry Community Centre and Sarn Village Hall.


Mike Harris (Independent)

Robert Karl Lewis (Conservative)

William Anthony McAllister-Lovatt (Plaid Cymru)

David Christopher Williams (Green Party)

The Polling Stations are at Mochdre Old School, Llandianm Village Hall and Llidiartywaen Community Centre.


icnn logo