mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Olympic backing for cycling group

Created on 14/10/2011 @ 18:08
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Olympic gold medal cyclist Geraint Thomas has congratulated Hafren Cycling Club on its first full season since being reformed earlier this year.
The message was passed to members at the club’s end of season presentation evening held at Newtown FC on Saturday night when guest of honour was former British cyclist and Tour de France veteran Barry Hoban, who now lives in the area.
In his written message to the club, Thomas said: “It’s down to clubs like Hafren CC that ensure people of all ages and abilities have the chance to take up what has to be one of the best sports and pastimes. Okay, I’m biased! But you never know, a future Olympic gold medallist or Tour de France winner could be from Montgomeryshire!”
He added: “Having just completed the Tour of Britain, which passed through Newtown, I know all too well the great local routes you guys have to choose from as a club – particularly that climb up Dolfor hill!
“It was great to have the support of the local community and particularly Hafren CC members.”
This Sunday the group will host its second open ride out, this time from the Back Lane car park in Newtown, along the canal tow path to Abermule. It follows a successful ride-out from Welshpool last month. All ages and abiliites are welcome, including family groups, although cycle helmets are compulsary. Anyone under 16 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.
Awards went to:
Overall points winner - David Gethin
Most improved time  – Nigel Hamer
Clubman of the Year Award – Chris Hill
Junior (18+under)
1st Max Gethin
2nd Robert Williams
Senior (up to 29)
1st Craig Thomas
2nd Sean Whitehead
3rd Roger Evans
Master (up to 39)
1st David Gethin
2nd Darren Jarman
3rd Stephen Owen
Vet (up to 49)
1st Medwyn Jones
2nd Paul Jones
3rd Mike Williams
Grand vet (50 + over)
1st Paul Hoare
2nd Alan Bridge
3rd Frank Szablewski
Other Awards:
Outstanding Achievement Award - Paul Hoare
Polka Dot Climber Award - Paul Jones
Significantly Improved All Round Rider - Ian Davies


icnn logo